Shorter’s Ledbetter College of Business presents End-of-Year Awards

Heath Hooper, dean of Shorter’s Ledbetter College of Business, presents the Distinguished Alum of the Year Award to Jeanne Krueger.

Shorter University’s Ledbetter College of Business presented awards to two outstanding alumni and 30 students who achieved notable academic success during its spring awards ceremony.

Alumni Honors

Jeanne Krueger, president and CEO of the Rome-Floyd Chamber, received the College of Business’ Distinguished Alum of the Year Award, and Kelly Bryl, operations coordinator at LakePoint Sports, was named the Young Alum of the Year.

“Jeanne Krueger was promoted to her current role at the Chamber in July 2019,” said Heath Hooper, dean of the college. “She works with determination and focus to serve fellow colleagues in their excellent Chamber work and to consistently advance the Chamber’s pro-business message while communicating a confident and constructive image through the community, member engagement and investment.”

Krueger’s professional career began in 1987 with the Metro Atlanta Chamber, where she managed membership sales, retention and business development prior to starting work at the Rome-Floyd Chamber.

A native of Rome, Krueger graduated from West Rome High School in 1982 and Shorter University in 1986. She has been married to Mark Krueger, a partner at Nichols, Cauley and Associates for 34 years. They have two grown children.

Bryl graduated from Flagler Palm Coast High School in Florida in 2016. She played lacrosse, competed on a weight-lifting team, and ran cross country during high school. At Shorter, she played lacrosse for four years while studying Sport Management. She completed an internship with Shorter’s Sports Information Department.

After graduation, Bryl worked at Perfect Game, selling tickets for baseball tournaments. She soon began work as a manager on duty for LakePoint Sports while serving as a recreation leader for Acworth’s community center. She now handles outdoor events and employee scheduling for LakePoint, a promotion she received after only nine months on the job.

Student Honors

Ethan Temples received the Coca-Cola Achievement Award. Established by the Coca-Cola Foundation to provide scholarships for business students, this award is given to the rising senior who, in the opinion of the faculty, demonstrates hard work and persistence in their academic pursuits.

Harlie Barker received the Travis Williams Scholarship. This scholarship is given in memory of Travis Williams, a rising senior business major who died in November 1998. Travis was a free spirit who loved life and possessed a love of learning in order to make a difference. The award is given to a rising senior who exhibits the characteristics Travis lived.

Ludrick Similien received the Dentris Mathis Memorial Scholarship, presented in memory of graduate Dentris Mathis, who died in April 2011. Dentris was a member of Shorter’s inaugural football team and the baseball team. The award is presented to a first-generation college student athlete who possesses Dentris’ love of Christ and life, a charismatic personality, a strong work ethic, and a great pride in education and Shorter.

Noah Hightower received the Robert Stinchcomb Memorial Scholarship, given in memory of Bob Stinchcomb, who was department chair and assistant professor of sport management at the time of his death in April 2018. The award is given to a sport management major who exemplifies his strong faith and work ethic, generosity, and a positive spirit.

Alexis Sewell received the Heart of the School of Business Administration Award, given by the college faculty to the student who makes teaching and learning fun and exhibits a love of life.

Aaron Moore and Reagan Howell received the Outstanding Freshman Achievement Awards.

Kylie League, Katherine Patrick, Lilah Pryor, and Madison Smith received the Outstanding Sophomore Achievement Awards.

Charles Collings, Taryn Cycholl, Bailey Lopez, and Maria Martinez received the Outstanding Junior Achievement Awards.

Outstanding Senior Achievement Awards were presented to Marshall Adams, Darby Ambrose, Josiah Dixon, Timothy Finlayson, Jan Gruhn, MaKayla Little, Lindsey McLendon, Marcus Pitter, Julie Sanderlin, Heidi Seagraves, Alexis Sewell, Matthew Shorrocks, Jordan Thrasher, Gunnar Uutinen, and John Yancey.

Students Irma Berkowitz, Charles Collings, Taryn Cycholl, Christian Luttrell, Ryan Millwood Fulkman, Marcus Pitter, and John Yancey were inducted into Shorter’s chapter of the Sigma Beta Delta honor society.

Recommended for you