The final Region alignments are set for Georgia High Schools regarding competition across the state and the three Gordon County schools now know who they are partnered with and what they’re up against for the next two years.

Calhoun will remain a 5A high school and stay in Region 7, like they have been the last two years and while the first classification released two months ago had them in a new-and-expanded eight-team grouping, the league will continue to have six schools.

Gordon Central is still in the 2A ranks and also still in Region 7 and there will still be seven teams, but it will be stronger with four new schools coming in and each should make an impact.

Sonoraville is the only school to move and the Phoenix, who are currently in AAA Region 6, will be moving up to the 4A category and compete in Region 7, which has six teams.

For Calhoun, things will pretty much stay the same over the next two year-cycle as they have been in the current one. The only real change coming to 5A Region 7 is Blessed Trinity vacating because the Titans are moving up to the 6A division with Dalton moving down from 6A and filling their spot.

So next year, it will be Calhoun, Cartersville, Cass, Woodland, Hiram and Dalton in Region 7.

Things looked quite different when the alignments were originally released back in November. Blessed Trinity was still out, but Villa Rica, along with Dalton, were the newcomers and Cartersville was a latecomer.

The Purple Hurricanes were, in the original projections, named a 6A school, but when a pair of unnamed 5A schools in the state requested to move up, the changes were granted and Cartersville came back to the 5A level and back into Region 7.

Villa Rica was eventually moved out in the Alignment appeals process and placed in Region 5, which is the biggest 5A league in the state with nine teams. That is exactly one-sixth of the state’s 54 5A athletic programs.

Blessed Trinity will now reside in the eight-team 6A Region 7 with Alpharetta, Innovation Academy (which does not play football), John’s Creek, Lassiter, Pope, Roswell, and Sprayberry High Schools.

For Gordon Central, the current Region 7 that the Warriors are members of looks much different than the one originally released in November and totally from the one they are presently in.

In fact, three teams who are current members of 3A Region 6 are joining the league, which will have four new schools overall. And three of those four new teams were playoff teams in football last fall.

Only Fannin County, Gordon Central and Model survived the makover with Rockmart, Murray County, North Murray, and Haralson County all joining to form the seven-team 2A Region 7.

When the realignments were originally released two months ago, Region 7 was pretty much intact with its current roster of Gordon Central, Coosa, Model, Chattooga, Dade County, Pepperell, and Fannin County with just one team — Fannin County — going out and one new school — Dalton Academy — coming in. Now after the individual schools and Alignment appeals process, it has a whole different look with three defending region football champs among the seven teams.

Fannin County is the two-time AA Region 7 champion and will be back to defend its title, but they will have to deal with Haralson County, which was the 2A Region 5 winner and Rockmart, which is dropping down from the 3A class and was the two-team Region 6 champion before the current change was made.

Those three teams were a combined 29-6 last year and a combined 20-0 in their Region games.

Besides those teams, North Murray was 7-4 last year and also made the playoffs so now the league should be stronger than it has been the past two years.

North Murray is the only new team that had a rough football season as the Indians were 1-9 and gave up 463 points in 10 games in 2021.

The four teams that are departing AA Region 7, along with the one that was originally slated to join, are now in the eight-team Division 1-A, which is the state’s smallest classification and are now members of Region 7.

That new-look league features Chattooga, Coosa, Pepperell, Dade County, Dalton Academy, Armuchee, Darlington and Trion.

For Sonoraville, the Phoenix are glad to be in a six-team region in 4A instead of the current nine-team 3A division they reside in and are looking forward to the next couple of years.

Presently in 3A Region 6, the Phoenix are joining the 4A Region 7 where they will have five playmates.

Region 7 will have the Phoenix taking on Cedartown, Carroll Central, Catoosa Heritage, Northwest Whitfield County, and Southeast Whitfield County and currently Cedartown, Central, Heritage and Southeast Whitfield County are already in that league.

The rest of the league has Ridgeland and Pickens County but both of those schools are moving down a classification with Ridgeland replacing Sonoraville in 3A Region 6 while Pickens is now in 3A Region 7.

Southeast Whitfield County has not played a Region schedule for the past two years, instead choosing to play as an independent, but the Bruins are rejoining the GHSA next year and will be in this 4A Region again.

The 3A Region 6 that the Phoenix are leaving will have a different look with eight teams in it and not nine when the new school year starts in the fall as besides Ridgeland, Bremen County and Gordon Lee will also be coming on board.

Other than those three schools, the five current teams in Region 6 that will remain there are Adairsville, Coahulla Creek, LaFayette, Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe, and Ringgold.


Recommended for you