Amy Mendes of the Floyd County Democratic Party said she expects to see several more challengers emerge this week to run against local incumbents, who are all Republicans.

The qualifying period runs through noon Friday for the May 22 primaries and nonpartisan general election.

Three county commission seats and two on the county board of education are up for grabs this year, along with two nonpartisan judgeships on the Superior Court and one on Juvenile Court.

Attorney Emily Matson qualified Tuesday for the Superior Court seat being vacated by Chief Judge Tami Colston. Kay Ann Wetherington also is seeking the seat.

Statewide, there are a host of openings from governor to labor commissioner — and all the Georgia General Assembly posts.

Candidates for Congress, the General Assembly, other courts and statewide offices qualify in Atlanta with their parties or the secretary of state's office at the state capitol.

Locally, Democrats are registering at the Salter Law Firm, 242 N. Fifth Ave., and Republicans are signing up at the law office of David Guldenschuh, 512 E. First St.

Candidates for the nonpartisan Juvenile Court judge seat qualify with the Floyd County Elections Office, 12 E. Fourth Ave.  

Qualified Candidates for 2018 elections

Qualifying runs through noon Friday for the May 22 elections. Nonpartisan winners take office in January 2019. Partisan winners advance to the Nov. 6 general election.

Local partisan

U.S. representative, District 14


Republican: Tom Graves (I)

State senator, District 52


Republican: Chuck Hufstetler (I)

State representative, District 12


Republican: Eddie Lumsden (I)

State representative, District 13

Democrat: John Burnette II

Republican: Katie Dempsey (I)

State representative, District 14


Republican: Christian Coomer (I)

County Commission, Post 1


Republican: Rhonda Wallace (I)

County Commission, Post 4


Republican: Larry Maxey (I)

County Commission, Post 5


Republican: Scotty Hancock (I)

County school board, District 1


Republican: Chip Hood (I)

County school board, District 4


Republican: Tony Daniel (I)

Local nonpartisan

Superior Court, Rome circuit - 2 seats

(Colston) Kay Ann Wetherington, Emily J. Matson

(Sparks) Billy Sparks (I)

Juvenile Court

Greg Price (I)

Statewide partisan


Democrat: Stacey Evans, Stacey Abrams

Republican: Hunter Hill, Casey Cagle, Clay Tippins

Lieutenant governor

Democrat: Triana Arnold James, Sarah Riggs Amico

Republican: Rick Jeffares, David Shafer, Geoff Duncan

Secretary of state

Democrat: John Barrow, Rakeim "RJ" Hadley

Republican: Davis Belle Isle, Brad Raffensperger, Buzz Brockway

Attorney general

Democrat: Charlie Bailey

Republican: Chris Carr (I)

Agriculture commissioner


Republican: Gary Black (I)

Insurance commissioner

Democrat: Cindy Zeldin

Republican: Jay Florence, Jim Beck

State school superintendent

Democrat: Sid Chapman

Republican: John Barge, Richard Woods (I)

Labor commissioner

Democrat: Fred Quinn, Richard Keatley

Republican: Mark Butler (I)

Public Service Commission

District 3

Democrat: Lindy Miller, John Noel

Republican: Chuck Eaton (I)

District 5

Democrat: Doug Stoner, Dawn A. Randolph

Republican: Tricia Pridemore (I)

Sources: Georgia secretary of state, Floyd County Democrat and Republican parties, Floyd County elections office.