GNTC Board of Directors welcomes new board chair and co-chair

Board Vice Chair Michele W. Taylor (from left) stands with the GNTC President Heidi Popham and Board Chair Rhonda Beasley in the atrium of the Gordon County Campus. The chair and vice-chair were recently selected to lead the GNTC Board of Directors during the 2020 fiscal year.

The Georgia Northwestern Technical College Board of Directors has elected a new board chair and co-chair for the 2020 fiscal year.

Rhonda Beasley of Rock Springs has been selected as chair of the 15-person board, with Michele W. Taylor of Calhoun serving as vice chair. The GNTC Board of Directors is comprised of representatives from its nine service areas.

Beasley works for the Roper Corp. and was recently featured in the Georgia Institute of Technology’s Faces of Manufacturing in Georgia. Beasley holds a bachelor’s degree in Business Management from Berry College as well as a master’s degree in Industrial and Organizational Psychology from the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga.

Taylor is the superintendent for Calhoun City Schools, a role she has held for the past 13 years. She was selected as Georgia Superintendent of the Year in 2014 and was also a finalist for the National Superintendent of the Year. Taylor holds several degrees including a bachelor’s in Early Childhood Education from Shorter University, a master’s from West Georgia College and doctorate degrees in Educational Leadership from Sarasota University.

The board meets monthly to ensure quality technical education and workforce development opportunities are being supported throughout the communities of Northwest Georgia.

The following is the full list of GNTC’s Board of Directors, with their county, place of employment and job title:

♦ Chair Rhonda Beasley, Walker, Roper Corporation, manager of human resources

♦ Robert L. Berry, Floyd, Brinson Askew Berry law firm partner

♦ Robert Bradham, Whitfield, Greater Dalton Chamber of Commerce, president and CEO

♦ Vann Brown, Whitfield, Brown Ox Ventures Inc., president

♦ James Cantrell, Dade, Dade County Board of Education, director of school operations

♦ James “Jay” Henry, Catoosa, Shaw Industries, director of operations support

♦ Albert “Al” Hodge, Floyd, Hodge Consulting

♦ Paul Meredith, Chattooga, Mohawk, director of manufacturing

♦ William “Terry” Nesbitt, Gordon, U. S. Army, retired major general

♦ Robert “Bob” Owens, Floyd, OTR Wheel Engineering Inc., chief financial officer

♦ Brittany Pittman, Murray, Appalachian Regional Commission, Georgia program manager

♦ Kenna Stock, Floyd, Harbin Clinic, chief executive officer

♦ Vice Chair Michele Taylor, Gordon, Calhoun City Schools, superintendent

♦ John Thomas, Whitfield, Dalton Utilities, chief energy services officer

♦ Cassandra Wheeler, Floyd, Georgia Power, northwest regional director

♦ Phillip Williams, Chattooga, Trion City Schools, superintendent.

Recommended for you