Rome News-Tribune: Rome Life

default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
|
||
Logout|My Dashboard

Rome Life

Latest News

100 Years Ago

  As it appeared in the FIFTY YEARS AGO column in the Thursday, August 27, 1964 edition of the Rome News-Tribune

  • icon Posted: August 24

More From Latest News

Recent Headlines

Sunday 08/17/2014
A Lady's Legacy: Descendants of Ellen Axson Wilson delighted at community's revived interest in their famous forebear
Posted: August 17, 2014

Rome’s renewed interest in perhaps its most famous daughter — Ellen Axson Wilson — could not have come too soon for the former first lady’s descendants.

Sunday 08/10/2014
100 Years Ago
Posted: August 10, 2014

As it appeared in the Fifty Years Ago column in the August 1964 editions of the Rome News-Tribune

Fifty Years Ago
Posted: August 10, 2014

Monday, August 10, 1964

History in Peril: Restoration committee needs community's help to save historic Fairview School building in Cave Spring
Posted: August 10, 2014

In 1924, a small school was erected in Cave Spring. It was small but it meant big things for many African-American Children in the county. It meant education and a better life than the one they knew.

Sunday 07/27/2014
100 Years Ago
Posted: July 27, 2014

As it appeared in the Fifty Years Ago column in the Thursday, July 30, 1964 edition of the Rome News-Tribune

Fifty Years Ago
Posted: July 27, 2014

Tuesday, July 28, 1964

Saving the Symphony
Updated: July 28, 2014 - 6:23 am

A symbol of Rome’s history and its culture, the symphony, is in peril.

Sunday 07/20/2014
100 Years Ago
Posted: July 20, 2014

As it appeared in the Fifty Years Ago column in the Thursday, July 23, 1964 edition of the Rome News-Tribune

Fifty Years Ago
Posted: July 20, 2014

Monday, July 20, 1964

Giving local wildlife a helping hand
Posted: July 20, 2014

Rome and Floyd County are fortunate to be surrounded by wildlife. But what happens when that wildlife is in danger? What can the public do to help wild animals in need?

Sunday 07/06/2014
100 Years Ago
Posted: July 06, 2014

As it appeared in the Fifty Years Ago column in the Thursday, July 9, 1964 edition of the Rome News-Tribune

Fifty Years Ago
Posted: July 06, 2014

Monday, July 6, 1964

The Stars Come Out to Shine
Posted: July 06, 2014

The DeSoto Theatre on Broad Street turned into a glittering, star—studded venue recently when Rome Little Theatre hosted its Annual Gala and Roman Awards.

Sunday 06/29/2014
100 Years Ago
Posted: June 29, 2014

As it appeared in the Fifty Years Ago as presented in the Friday, July 3, 1964 edition of the Rome News-Tribune

Fifty Years Ago
Posted: June 29, 2014

Wednesday, June 30, 1964

The Healing Power of Pets
Updated: July 15, 2014 - 9:02 pm

Vicki Miller and her dog Scami are a team. They, and others like them, are making their way into local hospitals, rehab centers, nursing homes and even libraries to bring the healing power of animals to those who need it most.

Sunday 06/22/2014
Cast Off Against Cancer: Community event celebrates cancer fighters and survivors as well as months of fundraising for Cancer Navigators
Updated: June 23, 2014 - 1:56 am

If a shower of hundreds of white flowers falling silently into the river, cast by community hands sounds intriguing to anyone, then Heritage Park is the place to be today.

Sunday 06/15/2014
The Holler: The latest thing to hit the Rome music scene seems to have struck the right chord with local audiences
Posted: June 15, 2014

Back in December, Adam Sikes, Josh Brown and Andy Lester were listening to Chris Knight play at The Brewhouse downtown. Whether it was their respect for a great songwriter or just the musical bug biting them, that night turned out to be the birth of one of Rome’s newest bands, The Holler.

Sunday 06/08/2014
100 Years Ago
Posted: June 08, 2014

As it appeared in the Fifty Years Ago column in the Sunday, June 7, 1964, edition of the Rome News-Tribune

Fifty Years Ago
Posted: June 08, 2014

Wednesday, June 10, 1964