Rome News-Tribune: Rome Life

default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
|
||
Logout|My Dashboard

Rome Life

Latest News

100 Years Ago

As it appeared in the Fifty Years Ago column in the Sunday, September 6, 1964 edition of the Rome News-Tribune

  • icon Posted: September 07

More From Latest News

Recent Headlines

Sunday 08/31/2014
Rome International Film Festival 2014
Posted: August 31, 2014

From an opening night film about a deaf superhero to a closing night film about that has already won over audiences at the Sarasota and Seattle International Film Festivals — and everything in between — the Rome International Film Festival promises a wealth of options for local film buffs.

Sunday 08/24/2014
100 Years Ago
Posted: August 24, 2014

  As it appeared in the FIFTY YEARS AGO column in the Thursday, August 27, 1964 edition of the Rome News-Tribune

Fifty Years Ago
Posted: August 24, 2014

Monday, August 24, 1964

A Guide to Getting Out on the River: Joe Cook completes guide to Chattahoochee River for local paddlers, canoeists, anglers
Posted: August 24, 2014

Joe Cook has spent almost his entire life on the river. And through his role as advocacy and communication director for Coosa River Basin Initiative, he’s tried to share his passion for enjoying and protecting Georgia’s waterways.

Sunday 08/17/2014
100 Years Ago
Posted: August 17, 2014

As it appeared in the Fifty Years Ago column in the Sunday, August 16, 1964 edition of the Rome News-Tribune

Fifty Years Ago
Posted: August 17, 2014

Sunday, August 16, 1964

A Lady's Legacy: Descendants of Ellen Axson Wilson delighted at community's revived interest in their famous forebear
Posted: August 17, 2014

Rome’s renewed interest in perhaps its most famous daughter — Ellen Axson Wilson — could not have come too soon for the former first lady’s descendants.

Sunday 08/10/2014
100 Years Ago
Posted: August 10, 2014

As it appeared in the Fifty Years Ago column in the August 1964 editions of the Rome News-Tribune

Fifty Years Ago
Posted: August 10, 2014

Monday, August 10, 1964

History in Peril: Restoration committee needs community's help to save historic Fairview School building in Cave Spring
Posted: August 10, 2014

In 1924, a small school was erected in Cave Spring. It was small but it meant big things for many African-American Children in the county. It meant education and a better life than the one they knew.

Sunday 07/27/2014
100 Years Ago
Posted: July 27, 2014

As it appeared in the Fifty Years Ago column in the Thursday, July 30, 1964 edition of the Rome News-Tribune

Fifty Years Ago
Posted: July 27, 2014

Tuesday, July 28, 1964

Saving the Symphony
Updated: July 28, 2014 - 6:23 am

A symbol of Rome’s history and its culture, the symphony, is in peril.

Sunday 07/20/2014
100 Years Ago
Posted: July 20, 2014

As it appeared in the Fifty Years Ago column in the Thursday, July 23, 1964 edition of the Rome News-Tribune

Fifty Years Ago
Posted: July 20, 2014

Monday, July 20, 1964

Giving local wildlife a helping hand
Posted: July 20, 2014

Rome and Floyd County are fortunate to be surrounded by wildlife. But what happens when that wildlife is in danger? What can the public do to help wild animals in need?

Sunday 07/06/2014
100 Years Ago
Posted: July 06, 2014

As it appeared in the Fifty Years Ago column in the Thursday, July 9, 1964 edition of the Rome News-Tribune

Fifty Years Ago
Posted: July 06, 2014

Monday, July 6, 1964

The Stars Come Out to Shine
Posted: July 06, 2014

The DeSoto Theatre on Broad Street turned into a glittering, star—studded venue recently when Rome Little Theatre hosted its Annual Gala and Roman Awards.

Sunday 06/29/2014
100 Years Ago
Posted: June 29, 2014

As it appeared in the Fifty Years Ago as presented in the Friday, July 3, 1964 edition of the Rome News-Tribune