You are the owner of this article.

100 Years Ago


As it appeared in the Fifty Years Ago column in September 1967 editions of the Rome News-Tribune

John Graham and Bolling Sullivan had returned from Canada where they spent the summer with their families, who were to return home later. En route home, they visited in Toronto and other places of interest.


The annual meeting of the Nine O’Clock Cotillion Club occurred this week half a century ago. The following officers were elected: Andrew Cooper, president; W.M. Towers, vice president; Albert Fahy, secretary-treasurer. Members of the governing board included Messrs. W.S. Rowell, Will Wyatt, Frank P. Murray, and James Maddox. By resolution, the name of the club was changed from “Nine O’Clock German Club.”

Immediately after adjournment, the governing board elected the following new unmarried members: Messrs. A.B. Arrington, Jr., John Ramey, Wyly King and John Jervis.

The following new members of the married contingent were elected: Messrs. E.E. Lindsey, W.G. McWilliams, Hugh Miller, Paul H. Doyl, T.J. Simpson, H.W. Matthews, Y.A. Dyer, V.A. Smith, G.E. Maddox, J.E. Wright, George T. Watts, Roy Berry, J.B. Sullivan, John M. Graham, A.B. utter and D.B. Magruder.


Floyd County’s first increment for the National Army whose members left this week, fifty years ago were honor guests at a luncheon at the Rotary club prior their departure for Fort Gordon via the Southern Railway.

Robert W. Graves presided and the function was opened with the singing of the Star Spangled Banner. After lunch, Judge John W. Maddox told of leaving for the front in the 1960s. He said the young men who left Rome then for the war had no particular destination but were determined to do their duty.

“Something a Recruit Should Know and Remember” was the subject of a speech of the next speaker, Capt. Harry Meikleham. He expressed the opinion that the war would continue three years and he outlined the task that America’s army would face.

“Send Me Away With a Smile,” the new war song, was sung by Glover McGhee.

Honor guests were Ollie Byars, Allen Battle, Alfred Henderson, Frank Mann, Hout Maitland, James N. King, Eugene Nelson, L.A. Tippen, C.E. Russell, W.L. Andrews, Fred C. Higgins, Sam Bagley, Iverson Thompson and M.F. Smith.

Miss Martha Berry, the only lady member of the local Rotary Club, said that more than 50 Berry School boys had volunteered for the army and she felt assured that they as well as the young men who were guests of the luncheon would give a good account of themselves.


Mrs. C.W. King and her daughters, Misses Sarah Joyce, Hallie Martha and Anna returned this week from Tybee where they spent several weeks. …. Mr. and Mrs. B.F. Tolbert announced the birth of a son. … Miss Frances West was planning to leave for Abingdon, Va., to enter Martha Washington College. …