You are the owner of this article.

Shorter University honors alumni at homecoming game

Shorter alumni awards

From left: Shorter University President Dr. Don Dowless; the 2017 Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients: Juan Pablo Selle, LaShell Williams and Mary Shotwell Smith; Shorter Alumni Governing Board Member Branny Holder; and Alumni Governing Board President Darrell Black. Contributed photo.

Dawn Tolbert

Shorter University honored three alumni, LaShell Williams, Mary Shotwell Smith and Juan Pablo Selle, with its 2017 Distinguished Alumni Awards. The awards were presented during a pregame ceremony at Shorter’s homecoming football game on Oct. 21.

LaShell Williams of Conyers received the 2017 Distinguished Alumni Award. This award recognizes an alumnus or alumna who has demonstrated outstanding personal achievement, public service or accomplishment in service to the global community.

Mary Shotwell Smith of Rome received the 2017 Distinguished Alumni Service Award. This award recognizes an alumnus or alumna who has given outstanding service to the university in leadership, volunteerism, on-campus service, recruiting efforts or financial support.

Juan Pablo Selle of Rome received the 2017 Distinguished Young Alumni Award, which honors a recent Shorter graduate who has shown promise through his or her professional achievement, community service, and/or dedication to the university and who embraces the Shorter University mission.