You are the owner of this article.

Berry College professor wins national mathematics award

Ronald Taylor Jr.

Berry College Professor Ronald Taylor Jr. (Photo by Alan Storey/Berry)

Each year the Mathematical Association of America recognizes college or university mathematics teachers who demonstrate extraordinary success in teaching effectiveness, even beyond their own institutions with The Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Awards for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics. Berry College professor Ronald Taylor Jr. is one of three professors nationally to be awarded in 2018.

Taylor is recognized for his success cultivating an Inquiry-Based Learning approach to his mathematics classroom at Berry College. He used his experience to mentor mathematics faculty at other institutions and co-chaired the organizing committee for the Inquiry Based Learning-Forum & Annual Legacy of R.L. Moore Conference. Taylor also dedicates his time to teaching mathematics to minority students through various summer camps and pre-college math workshops.

“The mathematicians receiving these awards are the leaders in our community who carry out the MAA’s mission to advance the understanding of mathematics and its impact on our world,” said Executive Director of the Mathematical Association of America Michael Pearson. “Their distinguished service and dedication to mathematical excellence strengthen our community and open paths for future generations of mathematicians.”

The award will be presented to Taylor at the Joint Mathematics Meetings, the world’s largest gathering of mathematicians, on Jan. 13 in San Diego, California.