CCSD school bus drivers, bus technicians and transportation support staff engaged in annual training together in July, brushing up on safety procedures and preparing to run routes for 2019-20. Director Jim Georges also took the opportunity to recognize several members of the transportation staff for recent achievements, including the local winners of the School Bus Road-E-O driving competition.

CCSD first-place Road-E-O driver Christine Minter placed 10th overall at the state competition, which was held in June in Warner Robins. Mary Stout placed second in the CCSD Road-E-O and Greg Caudle placed third. CCSD’s Special Needs team Paige Waters, driver, and Debbie Prater, monitor, won third place in the state competition. Vehicle technician Jeremiah Bradberry was recognized for his third-place win in the state technician competition.

Georges also recognized Johnston Elementary School driver Wanda Reeves with a Valor Award for her actions in protecting students after her bus was struck by a vehicle in the spring. “Wanda Reeves demonstrates the passion of safety first for all our students,” said Georges, as her co-workers gave her a standing ovation.