The Rockmart High School wrestling team made school history this weekend.
Competing in the 2-AAA area traditional tournament, the Yellow Jackets had nine wrestlers qualify for the Class AAA state sectionals, the most wrestlers Rockmart has ever had qualify in this format.
"Since they have adopted this format, this is the most wrestlers we have ever had to qualify," head coach Drew Lindsey said. "The boys have worked hard all season and the results are proof of their effort."
Two Rockmart wrestlers won the 2-AAA area title in their respective weight classes. Dennis Wolfe, competing in the 138 pound division, won the area championship as did Marlon Morales in the 160 pound class.
Wolfe received a first round bye this weekend at Central-Carroll High School before wrestling and defeating Gordon Central's Brody Garmon-Mills by pinfall. Wolfe then picked up a 6-3 decision win over Sonoraville's Chris Gonzalas to advance to the championship match. In the title bout, Wolfe piled up 13 points to win 13-7 over Ringgold's Adam Crawford.
Morales also received an opening round bye before reeling off three straight victories. Morales pinned Central-Carroll's Levi Huckeba and then picked up an 18-2 technical fall win over Ringgold's Wyatt Shephard. In the championship match, Morales defeated Sonoraville's Jerrett Derryberry 5-4.
Zach Kirby (170 pounds), Nick Forsyth (126 pounds) and Jason Wolfe (120 pounds) all came in second place for Rockmart. Brett Arnold (106 pounds) and Devin Darden (113 pounds) each had third place finishes.
Logan Warren (195 pounds) and Dakota Wilson (182 pounds) both came in fourth place for the Yellow Jackets.
As a team, Rockmart finished second out of 13 teams, tallying 190.5 points. Sonoraville took first as a team with 243.5 points. Ringgold (173) came in third, followed by Adairsville (145) and Cartersville (143.5).
"The boys aren't satisfied with just a strong area finish," Lindsey noted. "We hope they can continue this success next Saturday and into the state tournament in two weeks."
The top four finishers in each weight class at sectionals will advance into an eight-man state championship bracket.