Anyone who has met Phil Tuck knows of his love for local history and all things old.
Therefore, locating and purchasing a log cabin that is thought to be one of the oldest structures in Cedartown was a natural fit.
Phil and his wife, Dale, bought the former home of John Hand, from Zan Gammage in 2011, knowing the unique history of the home.
The property was originally conveyed by land grant, dated July 7, 1832, and subsequently purchased by George West in 1857.
Shortly after Tuck’s purchase, he learned that a log cabin original to the West property existed and had been disassembled and placed in storage for over 30 years in Haralson County.
Tuck immediately began efforts to acquire the cabin in an effort to restore a significant piece of history.
Finally in 2013, Tuck was able to buy the cabin from the estate of Ronnie Murphy and begin a labor of love to restore it.
Thanks to Murphy, each of the timbers where numbered so that the structure could eventually be assembled and returned to its original form.
Though some timbers were damaged during storage, Tuck has made every effort to maintain the integrity of the cabin.
Tuck’s research, aided by Greg Gray of the Polk County Historical Society and Billy Grant, a local historian, indicates that the cabin could have been the original home of George West, one of Cedartown’s early settlers.
This fact is supported by the West family cemetery which is located on Lakeview Drive and in close proximity to the cabin’s original location on what is currently the Kimball property.
Though no clear documentation is available, Tuck further believes that the cabin was probably constructed by the Cherokee who lived in the area prior to the 1832 land grant and were removed by 1836 in accordance with the Indian Removal Act.
Some of the original timbers still bear the chop marks where they were hewn by hand from pine trees and are approximately 30 feet in length.
One of the unique features of the cabin is the rock fireplace situated in the center of the structure in order to heat two rooms.
When asked how he wants to use the cabin when it is completed, Tuck simply says that his purpose was “to bring it home” and to make sure that this part of Cedartown history is preserved.