Cherokee County Commission

The Cherokee County Commission, during its Monday, Nov. 25 meeting, adopted resolutions for three local ATRIP Road projects.

They include:

-Resurfacing and Traffic Stripe on Cherokee County Road 15 from Cherokee County Road 29 to the Georgia State Line. Project No. ACNU58635-ATRIP (001), CCP 10-39-12, ATRIP # 10-03-02.

-Resurfacing, Traffic Stripe and guardrail improvements on Cherokee County Road 29 from Cherokee County Road 12 North to State Road 25 (U.S. –411). Project No. ACNU58636-ATRIP (001), CCP 10-38-12, ATRIP 10-03-03.

-Resurfacing and Traffic Stripe on Cherokee County Road 147 from Cherokee County Road 44 to State Road 273. Project No. ACNU58634-ATRIP (001), CCP 10-40-12, ATRIP 10-03-04.

During the regular session, Cherokee County Commission Chairman/Probate Judge Kirk Day introduced Larry Guffey who led in the Pledge of Allegiance and the Rev. Gene Burgess who led the invocation.

Guffey, Day said, served in the U.S. Air Force from 1961-1965, was an aircraft mechanic and continued to serve in the U.S. Air Guard in Gadsden in communications for a total of 10 years of military service. Guffey and his wife, Sue are active in their church, Centre First Baptist, and their community.

Rev. Burgess is a resident of Cherokee County who currently serves as senior adult minister at Pine Grove Baptist Church. He has been active in the ministry for more than 42 years, serving churches throughout North Alabama.

Chairman Day announced that appointments/reappointments to the Cherokee County Department of Human Resources will be made at the Dec. 9 regular meeting to fill three unexpired terms. Submittal of resumes, letters, etc., will be accepted through Wednesday, Dec. 4, 2013.

Day also announced that Charlie Hincy has been appointed to fill the unexpired term of Betty Adcock on the Cherokee County Board of Registrars.

In other business, the commission approved an excess land redemption to Reba Ray for $52.24.

The next regular meeting of the Cherokee County Commission is Monday, Dec. 9, beginning at 10 a.m. The work session begins at 9 a.m.