Walker County voters on Tuesday overwhelmingly gave the green light for a TSPLOST, a rarity in Georgia.

The vote was 2,622 "yes" (70 percent) to 1,122 "no" (30 percent). TSPLOST stands for transportation special-purpose local-option sales tax.

Walker becomes only the second among Georgia's 159 counties to have a TSPLOST, which means shoppers will begin paying an extra 1 percent in sales tax beginning April 1, 2018.

Consumers' tax on purchases will go from 7 cents on the dollar to 8 cents. Collection of the tax will last for five years and is expected to generate about $3 million a year. The money is earmarked for transportation projects, such as road paving. Fulton is the only other county in Georgia with a TSPLOST. Dade County also voted today on a TSPLOST but the measure failed, with 57 percent voting "no."