Ringgold Tigers

After coming up just a few points short in the championship match of the recent NGAC Duals, the Ringgold Tigers wrestling team refused to be denied at the NGAC Traditional last Saturday in LaFayette.

The Blue-and-White had three individual champions and had a top four finishers in 11 of the 15 weight classes to take home the team championship trophy.

Dade County had four champions, but only ended up with enough points to second place. Trion, the Duals winner, also had four individual champs, but finished in third place, while Heritage had one champion and placed fourth overall.

"We only returned three of 15 starters from last year," Ringgold head coach Barrett Blankenship explained. "We had a very inexperienced team to start with, so to see them go from being so inexperienced to becoming a really good team was great. And it's always great to win a championship, especially in our league, which is always so competitive. I'm extremely proud of them."

Ringgold's individual winners included Kori Dumas (150 pounds), Brent Lee Raby (220) and Bo Black (275). Gage Keener (72), Mason Parker (140), Kyle White (165) and Kaiser Cross (180) were all NGAC runners-up. Eric Jeffery (78), Hudson Moss (86), J.D. Harris (100) and Tyler Barker (130) all placed third.

Carter Case (94), Landon Williams (108), Heidi Raines (123) and Cody Williams (140) claimed titles for Dade. Cody Williams was also named the tournament's Most Outstanding Wrestler in the upper weights. Cayden Cooper (115), Isaac Pangle (150), Zac Smith (165) and Dakota Whitmore (275) were all third, while Jax Guinn (100) and Eli Kimball (130) were fourth.

For the Trion Bulldogs, Daegan Vaughn (86), Logan Eller (115), Brantley Wilbanks (165) and Bladyn Bowman (180) were all crowned NGAC champions. Runner-ups included Crawford Lee (78) and Cohen Blaschke (100). Toby Maddux (94), Elijah Stewart (123) and Hugo Francisco (220) all finished third, while Carter Loughridge (72) was fourth.

Tate Thomas (78) was the lone champion for the Generals and Thomas also took home Most Outstanding Wrestler honors in the lower weights. Seth Huskins (86), Evan Wingrove (94), Gavin Pennington (108), Justus Smith (130) and Randy Brooks (220) were all third, while Bryson Green (115) and Dylan Hodges (275) placed fourth.

Jonathan Woodall (130) won first place for Chattanooga Valley. Also placing for the Eagles was Zack Sain (123), who took second, Christian Duke (78), Jarred Meyners (108) and Markease Ross (140), who were third, and Elijah O'Shields (150) and Cade Dunn (22), who both earned fourth.

Dalton Griffin (72) won an individual title for Saddle Ridge. The Mustangs had three more wrestlers - Levi Ledford (86), Aidan Cook (94) and Dakota Catlett (180) - who all took third place.

Gordon Lee saw five wrestlers place. Penn Askew (115) and Dylan Crawford (150) were both runner-up in their weight classes. Tanner Wilson (108) was third, while Kaleb Ray (123) and Justin Cruise (165) were fourth.

Jathan Harding (72) and Jacob Moses (180) were both third for LaFayette, while Caleb Zwiger (130) placed fourth.

Micah Tisdale (100) was Lakeview's lone champion with Taylor Frady (275) taking third place.