LaFayette Ramblers

The Northwest Georgia Tip-Off Club held its 32nd annual banquet at the Krannert Center at Berry College on March 1 and several local players and coaches were honored.

Alex Kelehear of LaFayette High School shared Player of the Year honors with Sonoraville’s Wil Walraven and Cartersville’s Jaylon Pugh. LaFayette head coach Hank Peppers also shared Boys’ High School Coach of the Year honors with Tyler Watkins of Christian Heritage.

LaFayette and Christian Heritage were the Boys’ Teams of the Year, while LaFayette Middle School was the Boys’ Team of the Year and Casey Brown was the Boys’ Middle School Coach of the Year.

Kelehear and LaTyah Barber were LaFayette’s selections to the Team of the Year list. Marquilia Howell and Dee Southern were on the Team of the Month for December, while Nicky Yancy and Jon Morgan made the list for January.

LaFayette is the only school in Catoosa or Walker County that participates in the Tip-Off Club.

Georgia Northwestern players Tori Harvey and Tyler Phillips were named as the College Players of the Year for the school.

Former LaFayette boys’ head coach Ray Tucker and former Gordon Lee girls’ head coach Lester Galyon were also recognized for reaching the 400 Win Club for their careers.