City council incumbents in LaFayette and Chickamauga retained their seats on election day, Tuesday, Nov. 7.

In the only contested race in LaFayette, incumbent Beacher Garmany was re-elected for Ward 1. He received 340 votes to challenger Vic Burgess' 189 votes.

Mayor Andy Arnold, Ward 2 Councilman Ben Bradford and City Judge Kenneth S. Maples ran unopposed.

Of the 2,975 registered voters in LaFayette, 18 percent (533 voters) cast ballots in the council races.

In Chickamauga three incumbents running for re-election retained their council seats in a six-person race. Evitte Parrish received 337 votes; Randal Dalton, 310 votes; Don Martin, 234 votes. Challengers Lance Tarvin received 200 votes; Doug Cogswell, 129 votes; James Dale Powell, 91 votes. The top three vote-getters are the winners.

Of the 1,786 registered voters in Chickamauga, 29 percent (518 voters) cast ballots in the council race.

City council elections in both cities are non-partisan, meaning the candidates do not declare political party affiliation.

Josh O'Bryant is a general assignment reporter and covers the Walker-Catoosa County area. He can be reached at the Walker County Messenger office at 706-638-1859 and by email at jobryant@npco.com.