A snow plow clears the roads in Chickamauga & Chattanooga National Military Park. (Walker Messenger photo/Mike O'Neal)

President Barack Obama approved on Thursday a major disaster declaration for 39 Georgia counties that sustained damage during the Feb. 10-14 winter storm.

Floyd, Chattooga and Gordon counties weren’t on Gov. Nathan Deal’s original request list — but the declaration also omits neighboring Polk and Bartow counties, which were.

The declaration allows the Federal Emergency Management Agency to reimburse 75 percent of eligible expenditures and damage costs.

“The winter weather that overtook our state in mid-February caused millions of dollars’ worth of damage in many parts of our state…I appreciate the cooperation of President Obama and FEMA during this response effort,” Deal said.

Bartow, Cherokee, Cobb, Dawson, DeKalb, Forsyth, Paulding, Polk and White counties were removed from the state request due to not meeting the per capita threshold of $3.50 per person.

The Northwest Georgia counties of Dade, Haralson, Walker and Whitfield are included in the declaration.